Thrill of the 'Chace: Steeplechase in Art

Thrill of the 'Chace: Steeplechase in Art

Regular price $20.00 Sale

Paperback (2020)
116 pages

By Claudia P. Pfeiffer, Elizabeth von Hassell

Thrill of the ‘Chace: Steeplechase in Art a captivating journey through the growth in polarity of the exhilarating sport full of “thrills and spills” and the resulting artistic output over two centuries at the regional, national, and international levels. The richly-illustrated, catalogue with full-page color plates includes a preface by Executive Director Elizabeth von Hassell and essay and plate descriptions by the George L. Ohrstrom Jr. Head Curator Claudia P. Pfeiffer.

Artists: Henry Thomas Alken, Anita Baarns, Marion McCreary Majors Banner, Carroll Kinney Bassett, Jean Bowman, J. Clayton Bright, W. Smithson Broadhead, Paul Desmond Brown, Neil Cawthorne, Ann Collins, John Kirthian Court, Peter Curling, Randall Vernon Davey, Herbert Haseltine, Edwin Benjamin Herberte, Henry Koehler, Eugene Louis Lami, Evgeny-Alexandrovich Lanceray, Emma MacDermott, Booth Malone, James Pollard, Marie-Louise Radziwill, Richard Stone Reeves, Frederic Sackrider Remington, Gordon Ross, William J. Shayer, Mary Shira, John Rattenbury Skeaping, Hobart D. Stitt, Robert Stone, Henry Stull, John Sturgess, William van Zandt, Daphne vom Baur, Franklin Brooke Voss, Edward Somerville Voss, George Wright